Welcome to the Municipal Excellence Network!

Call for Submissions for the 2014 Minister's Awards for Municipal Excellence

The Honourable Greg Weadick, Minister of Municipal Affairs, invites all municipalities to submit practices to the Municipal Excellence Review Committee.  Practices can be submitted in one of the following categories:

  • Innovation
  • Partnership
  • Safe Communities
  • Smaller Municipalities

The shared practices will be posted on the Municipal Excellence Resource Library to help other municipalities find ways to improve services, maximize resources, or create partnerships.  Click here for details and submission forms. These awards provide the Government of Alberta with an opportunity to recognize the exceptional programs and services being provided by local governments in Alberta today.

Municipal Excellence Network Resource Library

All the practices submitted over the years can be found in the library. In addition, there are bylaws and policies, plus some additional resource information and articles on this site.

Sincere thanks to everyone for sharing their practices and enriching your resource library. To help the Municipal Excellence Network Resource Library continue to grow, please submit your practices, bylaws and policies to share with other municipalities. Bylaws and policies can be emailed to menet@gov.ab.ca to be posted. To submit additional practices, please use our Practice Collection Form. If you have any questions regarding the Minister’s Awards for Municipal Excellence or the Municipal Excellence Network, including information on practices submitted in the past, please direct them to the Municipal Excellence Team, toll-free at 310-0000, then 780-427-2225 or by email at menet@gov.ab.ca.

The Municipal Excellence Team