Municipal Excellence Network and Minister's Awards for Municipal Excellence


2017 Minister's Awards for Municipal Excellence

The Honourable Shaye Anderson invites submissions for the
2017 Minister's Awards for Municipal Excellence.
Submissions will be received until March 31, 2017.


2016 Winners


Innovation Award  Town of Hinton – Participatory Budgeting

The Town of Hinton empowered its residents to determine how to use $100,000 of the town’s annual budget. Residents present project ideas and residents vote on the possible projects. Voting is open to all residents from 14 years old and up.   The town has completed this process for two years. The first year, bus shelters were built and the hall was renovated. The next year, the Master Trail plan was created to improve the trails throughout the town.

Contact:   Josh Yaworski


Larger Municipalities Award  City of Calgary – Municipally-owned Fibre Infrastructure

The information technology business unit at the City of Calgary has leveraged capital works projects to build and deploy a fibre optic network to support city services. This approach has been effective in building over 450 kilometres of city fibre in use today. The City of Calgary has built the municipally-owned fibre infrastructure. Owning the infrastructure provides the city greater security and control of its networks. In turn, it is able to offer reliable and superior performance, lower costs, and scalability within a sustainable framework for the future.

Contact:  Heather Reed-Fenske


Partnership Award   Summer Village of Jarvis Bay – Shared Administration

Five summer villages (the Summer Village of Jarvis Bay, the Summer Villages of Birchcliff, Half Moon Bay, Norglenwold, and Sunbreaker Cove) share the same administration, but keep their individual councils, bylaws, and Chief Administrative Officers. This shared service achieves cost savings and enables the individual municipalities to work together without losing their own unique and individual identities, needs, and cultures.

Contact:  Phyllis Forsyth


Partnership (Honorable Mention)   County of St. Paul – St. Paul Occupational Health and Safety Program

The County of St. Paul, Towns of Elk Point and St. Paul, and the Summer Village of Horseshoe Bay partnered together to regionalize their Occupational Health and Safety (OH&S) programs. A regional director of OH&S was hired along with an administrative position.  OH&S training, documentation, daily inspections, risk assessments, reporting of incidents, and prevention of incidents through training have increased. Work environments are now safer for employees and residents.

Contact: Kyle Attanasio


Safe Community Award  City of Grande Prairie – Crime Prevention

The City of Grande Prairies has created a proactive crime prevention department which continues to build on the strengths of the city by using a co-ordinated approach to engage citizens, agencies, and businesses to reduce crime in the community.  As a result of the new department, the community’s knowledge of crime prevention awareness and resources to address potential crime has increased. Community members are better prepared to deal with unexpected and emergent crime issues. Citizens feel that their neighbourhoods are safer and experience a decrease in social isolation.

Contact:  Karen Gariepy


Smaller Municipalities Award Town of Bon Accord – Light Efficiency Community Standards

The Town of Bon Accord was designated as an International Dark Sky Community in 2015. It is the first in Canada and one of only 11 communities across the globe to receive this designation. The town implemented its Light Efficient Community Standards Bylaw which helped to reduce light pollution, through at least 10 projects supported and completed in the bylaw. This included street lighting retrofits by Public Works and outreach visits at local schools to inspire students to embrace the nighttime environment. The community hosts an annual Equinox Festival each September, which draws both residents and tourists to Bon Accord for a celebration of the night sky.

Contact:  Vicki Zinyk


2015 Winners

Innovation: Starland County for Starland Solar Initiative

Partnership: Clearwater County, Town of Rocky Mountain House, and Village of Caroline for  Inter-municipal Collaboration Committee (ICC)

Safe Communities:  Town of Sexsmith for Sexsmith Citizens on Patrol Society

Smaller Municipalities:  Summer Village of Grandview for Excellence in Environmental Stewardship

Larger Municipalities:  City of Calgary for Flexwork Hub  (note: new category for 2015)

Outstanding Achievement:  City of Edmonton for Brownfield Redevelopment Grant Program


2014 Winners

Innovation: County of Vermilion River, Delta Waterfowl, Alberta Conservation Association, Cows and Fish, and Alberta Sustainable Resource Development for Alternative Land Use Services Partnership: City of Calgary, Federation of Calgary Communities, and Canadian Home Builders Association-Calgary Chapter for Transforming Planning

Safe Communities: City of Calgary and City of Calgary Public Communications for Text 9-1-1

Smaller Municipalities: Summer Villages of Ma-Me-O Beach, Argentia Beach, Crystal Springs, Golden Days, Grandview, Itaska Beach, Norris Beach, Poplar Bay, Silver Beach, and Sundance Beach for the Pigeon Lake Summer Villages Regional Emergency Management Plan

Outstanding Achievement: City of Airdrie for Online Census


Municipal Excellence Resource Library

All the practices submitted to the Municipal Excellence Network can be found in the library. In addition, there are bylaws and policies, plus some additional resource information and articles on this site.

Sincere thanks to everyone for sharing their practices and enriching your resource library. To help the Municipal Excellence Network Resource Library continue to grow, please submit your practices, bylaws and policies to share with other municipalities.

Bylaws and policies can be emailed to to be posted.

To submit additional practices, please use our Practice Collection Form.

If you have any questions regarding the Minister’s Awards for Municipal Excellence or the Municipal Excellence Network, including information on practices submitted in the past, please direct them to the Municipal Excellence Team, toll-free at 310-0000, then 780-427-2225 or by email at

The Municipal Excellence Team



  • Date modified: 2017-02-14