APRIL 15, 1957 THE NEW TOWNS ACT

O.C. 494-57

Approved and Ordered
CLINTON J. FORD
Administrator

NEW TOWN OF HINTON ESTABLISHED

Edmonton, Wednesday, March 27, 1957.

The Executive Council has had under consideration the report of the Honourable the Minister of Municipal Affairs, dated March 27th, 1957, stating that:

Whereas the Administrative and Development Officer of Improvement District 95 pursuant to section 4 of The New Towns Act, has made application to the Provincial Planning Advisory Board for the amalgamation of the New Town of Hinton, the Village of Drinnan and certain adjacent area and the formation of the amalgamated area into a New Town; and

Whereas the proposal has been unanimously endorsed by public meetings held in the Hinton and Drinnan townsites; and

Whereas the Provincial Planning Advisory Board, having considered the application, recommends the application be approved;

Therefore, upon the recommendation of the Honourable the Minister of Municipal Affairs, the Executive Council advises, pursuant to the provisions of sections 3 and 5 of The New Towns Act, being chapter 39 of the Statutes of Alberta, 1956:

(1) That the present New Town of Hinton, the Village of Drinnan and certain adjacent areas be amalgamated into one new town.

(2) That the following lands shall comprise the New Town of Hinton, namely

That portion of the west half of section 19 lying northerly of the northerly limit of the right-of-way of Highway 16, as same is shown on Road Plan No 2755 JY, that portion of the west half of section 30 lying southerly of the right bank of the Athabasca River, and that portion of the south-west quarter of section 31 lying southerly of the right bank of the Athabasca River

All of the above lands being in township 51, range 24, west of the fifth meridian

That portion of the east half of section 9 lying southerly of the right bank of the Athabasca River, the north half of section 10, the north-west quarter of section 11, those portions of the north half and south-west quarter of section 13 lying northerly of the northerly limit of the light-of-way of Highway 16, as same is shown on Road Plan No 3152 JY; all of section 14, that portion of section 15 lying southerly of the right bank of the Athabasca River, that portion of the South East quarter of section 16 lying southerly of the right bank of the Athabasca River, that portion of the south-east quarter of section 22 lying southerly of the right bank of the Athabasca River, that portion of section 23 lying southerly of the right bank of the Athabasca River, that portion of section 24 lying northerly of the northerly limit of the right-of-way of Highway 16, as same is shown on Road Plan No 3152 JY; that portion of section 25 lying southerly of the right bank of the Athabasca River, that portion of the south-east quarter of section 26 lying southerly of the right bank of the Athabasca River

All the above described lands being in township 51, range 25, west of the fifth meridian.

- (3) That for the purpose of the division of assets and liabilities, the establishment of the New Town of Hinton shall be deemed to be effective as on and from the 1st day of January, 1957.
- (4) That for the purpose of Certificates of Assessment, as required by sections 283 and 296 of The School Act, 1952, the establishment of the New Town of Hinton shall be deemed to be effective as on and from the 31st day of December, 1956
- (5) That establishment of the New Town of Hinton for all purposes other than the aforementioned in clauses (3) and (4) shall be effective as on and from the 1st day of April, 1957
- (6) That the Boar I of Administrators of the New Town of Hinton shall consist of

Benjamin C Hoy — Chief Chemist

Fred Hansen — Oil Agent

Ivan K Sutherland — Assistant Superintendent

Raymond Fuller — Garage Proprietor

Roy Lisogar - Hotel Proprietor

Boyd Ford - Baker

W D Isbister — Asst Chief Municipal Inspector

(7) That the said W D Isbister be and is hereby appointed Chairman of the Board of Administrators