2014 Minister's Awards for Municipal Excellence

An independent review committee comprised of representatives from various municipal associations will recommend award recipients for the 2014 Minister's Awards for Municipal Excellence in four categories.   Submissions are made up of two parts; the first is to fill out a practice collection form, and the second is to fill out the awards application form.  Once you have filled out the practice collection form, most of the work is done, as the awards application form is quite brief. Please click on the links below for the award submission forms:

  1. Innovation – recognizes a leading practice embodying the first use of an idea in a municipal context in Alberta;
  2. Partnership – recognizes a leading municipal practice involving consultation, co-ordination and co-operation with other municipalities, jurisdictions or organizations;
  3. Safe Communities – recognizes a leading practice focused on making municipalities safer through prevention and enforcement;
  4. Smaller Municipality – recognizes the innovative practices developed by communities with less than 3,000 residents.

The Outstanding Achievement Award – recognizes a municipality or municipal partnership that has helped to inspire action and change that has benefited local government practice in Alberta.  This award, chosen by the review committee, recognizes the best submission from the other categories.

All municipalities are eligible.  The review committee considers the practice in relation to the size and available resources of the municipality.  

The submission period for the 2014 Minister’s Awards for Municipal Excellence will end May 23, 2014.  Award recipients will be announced in November at the AAMDC and AUMA Conventions.