2017 Minister's Awards for Municipal Excellence

Since 2002, this annual award program has encouraged municipalities to share their successes by recognizing accomplishments in the provision of municipal services in Alberta. Each year municipalities, whether individually or in partnership with other organizations, have highlighted practices including new and unique approaches to issues, streamlined processes for existing practices, and creative community partnerships.

Awards are given in five categories: Innovation; Partnerships; Safe Communities; Smaller Municipalities; and Larger Municipalities. 

An Outstanding Achievement Award is given to recognize a municipality or municipal partnership that has helped to inspire action and change that has benefited local government practice in Alberta. This award, chosen by the awards review committee, recognizes the best submission from all categories.

Submissions are now being accepted for the

2017 Minister’s Awards for Municipal Excellence.

Submissions will be accepted until March 31, 2017 at menet@gov.ab.ca.


Award Guidelines

* All municipalities are eligible.

* Municipalities may submit more than one practice. Each practice can only be submitted once in 2017 (i.e. the same practice cannot be submitted to more than one category).

* The Awards program is open only to municipalities to apply, though other organizations can have a role in the submitted practice (i.e. the municipality applies for the award and can recognize its partners/other organizations as part of its submission).


Award Categories

Innovation – recognizes a leading practice embodying the first use of an idea in a municipal context in Alberta (municipalities with a population of less than 500,000);

Partnerships – recognizes a leading municipal practice involving consultation, co-ordination and cooperation with other municipalities, jurisdictions or organizations (municipalities with a population of less than 500,000);

Safe Communities – recognizes a leading practice focused on making municipalities safer through prevention and enforcement (municipalities with a population of less than 500,000);

Smaller Municipalities – recognizes the innovative practices developed by communities with less than 3,000 residents;

Larger Municipalities  - recognizes the innovation and creativity of larger municipalities with populations of 500,000 or greater that have a substantial resource base and who can partner with departments within the municipality’s control.


Award Submission

To submit a practice for consideration, an Awards Submission Form must be completed.  The Form is available by clicking on each Category.

Innovation     Partnerships     Safe Communities   Smaller Municipalities    Larger Municipalities


Award Review and Selection

An independent Review Committee made up of representatives from various municipal associations will recommend award recipients to the Minister of Municipal Affairs.  The Review Committee considers the practices in relation to the size and available resources of the municipality, and the quality of the submission received.  Further information is available on the Award Submissions Form for each category.


QUESTIONS?  Please email  menet@gov.ab.ca

  • Date modified: 2017-02-28